Distinguished Teaching Award


The DTA Nomination Period is Officially Open!

Click here to submit a Distinguished Teaching Award nomination.


The Distinguished Teaching Award was established to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching at Cal Poly.  Given the mission of the University, this prestigious award represents an enormous honor to those selected to receive it.   The award is especially significant since only students and alumni – those who have been touched by the faculty – are eligible to submit nominations. The rigorous evaluation process is conducted by peer faculty members and is based on reviews of written documentation and extensive in-class visitations.   The University takes great pride in thanking award winners at several important public events, highlighting the crucial role that great teaching plays at Cal Poly.

Any student or alumnus may submit one or more nominations, which includes the professor's name, department, and a supporting statement containing evidence of merit based upon criteria below.

Selection Criteria:
  • Content and quality of material presented
  • Teaching procedures that contribute to student interest, enthusiasm, achievement, and that stimulates thinking
  • Techniques that show excellence in teaching
  • Innovative instructional approaches
  • A high degree of interaction with students
  • High personal and professional standards
  • Clear and well-organized activities, lectures, or labs
  • Concern for individual student success
  • Fair, rigorous methods for evaluating students' progress, evidence of significant professional development as it relates to teaching excellence

Please Note:

Only full time tenured faculty members teaching during this academic year who have not previously won the award are eligible.

To nominate, students must have a university email account in their name and indicate their major, email address, and a telephone number for verification.

The Distinguished Teaching Award is supported financially by the Cal Poly Alumni Association.             

2018-2019 Award Recipients


John Chen

Mechanical Engineering, CENG

Dale Clifford

Architecture, CAED




Previous Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients

List of faculty members who are currently working AND not eligible for nomination

Complete List of Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients

All faculty who have received the award (currently working or retired)

Armstrong, Mary

Bailey, Christina

Ball, Stephen

Barnes, Timothy

Bergman, Sky

Brown, Ronald

Burgunder, Lee

Bush, Seth

Clark, Kevin

Clark, Robert

Cotkin, George

Davies, Thomas

DeJong, Alvin

DeNatale, Jay

DePiero, Fred

Devore, Jay

Disanto, Thomas

Doub, Phil

Duffy, Bernard

Duffy, Susan

Fahs, Michael

Fidopiastis, Pat

Fitzhenry, William

Frayne, Colette

Gragson, Derek

Greenwald, Harvey

Grundmeier, Todd

Halisky, Linda

Hallock, Brent

Hampsey, John

Headrick, David

Jankay, Peter

Johnson, William

Jones, Dane

Kantorowski, Eric

Keeling, David

Keeling, Elena

Keil, Dave

Lucas, Michael

Maas, Donald

MacCurdy, Carol

Machamer, Josh

Martinez, William

Marx, Steven

McLamore, Alyson

Miller, Charles "Tad" Miller, Michael 

Moelter, Matt

Moore, Matthew

Mueller, James

Mullisen, Ronald Munoz-Christian, Karen

Nakamura, Raymond

Nelson, Yarrow

Noland, Jaymie

O'Bryant, Camille Pedersen, Mary

Preston, William

Retsek, Dylan

Ritter, Matt

Roy, Soma Russell, Craig


Ryujin, Donald

Scriven, Talmage

Shani, Abraham

Slem, Charles Smidt, Robert

Staley, Clint

Stannard, Sandra

Stegner, Dustin

Taylor, Emily Taylor, Kevin J

Toker, Umut

Van Draanen, Nanine

Vanasupa, Linda

Zohns, Mark        



Related Content